Q·E·2: Scandinavian Spuds

9 Mar

It’s that time of year. Veggies are looking sad, no matter where you buy them. Hearty winter dishes have lost their appeal. Is there anyway to eat one more root vegetable?

Yes.

Take a cue from summer and boil up a pot of salt potatoes. The spuds might not be the smallest, or the best, but they’re still delicious hot, cold, plain or doused in butter, or better yet, why not dress them up as Vikings?

No, I don’t mean that you should run out and buy a little horned hat for your Mr. Potato Head. Instead I would encourage you to track down some Nordic mustard.

Nordic Mustard

This stuff hails from the ancestral home of Hamcheese and maker of the most amazing chicken pot pies, Nordic Delicacies on 3rd Avenue out here in Bay Ridge. I originally bought it because I liked the packaging, and my condiment addiction needed a fix, but, like most condiments, the mustard proved to be much more than a pretty face.

It has the most wonderful texture. Each little mustard seed pops in your mouth as you chew. It’s somewhat sweet, with just a hint of mustard bite, much different from it’s Polish cousins who tend to be brash and bright, and somewhat overwhelming.

So let’s say that you’ve managed to get some Idun Sennep Grov mustard and you were motivated enough to boil up some spuds. Now what?

Scandinavian Spuds

Take a few ‘taters and heat them up in a pan with butter or olive oil. Mash them as they’re cooking with the back of a fork until they’re broken apart.

When heated through, place in a bowl and mix in a truly healthy dollop of mustard, a little yogurt or sour cream, a dash of lemon juice, a sprinkle of salt, a pinch of curry powder and a dusting of fresh or dried dill. A few chunks of chopped up cornichons would taste amazing in this as well.

Mix to incorporate, sit down and try to eat with a fork.

Just because your potatoes are wearing Viking garb doesn’t mean you should eat like one.

9 Responses to “Q·E·2: Scandinavian Spuds”

  1. s'kat March 9, 2007 at 9:58 am #

    As a woman who has no less than 10 different types of mustard in her fridge at any given time, I’m shocked that I know nothing of this mustard!!

  2. Lydia March 9, 2007 at 12:48 pm #

    This mustard is new to me, too — but I love the method and will definitely try it with some of the mustards I have in the pantry.

  3. Terry B March 9, 2007 at 3:32 pm #

    Wow, thank you twice! Once for the recipe itself, which sounds delightful, and once for giving us a whole new way to play with mashing potatoes.

    Based on what you’ve done here, there’s a sauce I make for pan-seared salmon with yogurt, dijon mustard and fresh dill that I bet would be great with potatoes.

  4. Norse Viking March 9, 2007 at 10:35 pm #

    You’re eating our mustard!

    Viking

  5. ann March 10, 2007 at 10:15 am #

    s’kat & Lydia — It was new to me too, but I’m a sucker for pretty packaging. I so envision using the glass jar as a small vase once pretty flowers are available at the Greenmarket again.

    Terry B — My pleasure. I think these ‘taters would go awesome with salmon.

    Norse Viking — I prefer to think of it as sharing ;-)

  6. Julie March 11, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    You seem to have the United Nations of shopping there in Bay Ridge. I would guess between Brooklyn and Queens there is no ethnic group without a food market. Lucky you. Of course, there is probably no ethnic group without a restaurant either and if I lived in your neck of the woods I’d probably be so busy eating at these places I’d never get around to cooking anything at home.

  7. sher March 12, 2007 at 1:54 am #

    My grocery store has a huge mustard selection, so I will search for that. Those potatoes look so succulent!

  8. Xenia April 28, 2008 at 8:21 am #

    I love Idun Sennep, but I prefer the “sterk” (strong) kind, and we also buy it because the jars make wonderful drinking glasses…all of my normal glasses broke over time, but these mustard glasses are all still going strong…I have (*counts*) 22 of them currently in my kitchen cabinet. :D

  9. Xenia April 28, 2008 at 8:25 am #

    P.S. Forgot to say…I will definitely be making this recipie! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

